Preferred Open Source License

I was asked on the other forum if I would consider using an OS license other that the GPL.

Truth is, I hadn’t really put that much thought into the choice of license.

Which leads me to a few questions for the community:

1. What are your views on the pros/cons of the various OS license models?

2. Do you have a preferred license?

3. Is there a license you would refuse to work with?

I prefer the BSD-style licenses because they are “more free,” in that they don’t limit the kinds of re-use allowed. I do understand why GPL-style licenses are in use. BSD licenses mean you are free to be a jerk and lock away your improvements.

Not being a developer myself I’ve resolved to just abide by the author’s choice–but when I do give away things online, my personal choice is to give them away without strings attached.

There is no license I know of that I would refuse to work with, but I also don’t know a lot about the field other than the general BSD/GPL division.

I use MIT license on my own things when I have the option. It’s my preferred license, by far.

Most everything I do personally (as in not for work), if I release it publicly, then I don’t care what anyone does with it. If they share back, fine, if they don’t, fine. If they use it to make something else, great. Even if they make money off it, I just don’t care. To me it just doesn’t matter. I released it open source so other could use it. I just don’t want to be blamed for anything, so I use MIT license.

Whatever license you decide to use doesn’t really matter to me, I’ll still help out if I can. I know a lot of folks won’t want to if it’s GPL, but I’m not sure that will really matter in the long run. You’ll probably get enough help either way.

This type of discussion can definitely set off some healthy debate, with a fair number of people entrenched on both sides of the GPL.