Laser not firing

The laser on my Glowforge stopped firing. And by “my”, I mean my wife’s that I get to occasionally use. Everything else seems to work. The head is moving, dutifully tracing out a phantom non-existent cut. Just no laser. We’ve sent it in for repairs before, but now its no longer under warranty. I’m a software engineer by trade and have electrical engineers and software engineers that work for me. I’m going to try to troubleshoot and fix it myself. Obviously, lack of documentation is always an issue. First, any advice? I was going to start with the power supply. It worries me a bit because I assume the power to the laser is continuous, not switched. I have it opened and cleaned up a bit. I don’t see any obvious test points and I’m leery about disconnecting the power cables from the tube itself.

Has anybody created any drawings of the stock Glowforge?

A couple mandatory safety points: Working on the power supply involves exposure to mains and very high voltage - both of which can kill you. This is not something that someone without experience in mains connected HV power supplies should undertake. Extreme caution is required.

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES DO I RECOMMEND WORKING ON THE POWER SUPPLY - YOU COULD BE ELECTROCUTED, BURNED OR BLINDED, AND EVEN KILLED

Accordingly, everything discussed here is hypothetical, and should not be construed as directions - they are not.

Also, I’m going from memory here, so the information below may not be 100%… You’ve been warned.

Working inside the supply itself does require complete removal from the Glowforge. This is a pain. The HV line is threaded through the gantry and the cable carrier and is difficult to remove and reinstall. I tie a string to it before pulling it out so that I have an easier way to fish it back through to reinstall it. Additionally, anyone working on the supply should use a high voltage dummy load that matches the tube, rather than having it connected to the laser.