Glowforge lost power

Hi all,
Noob here so bear with me and forgive me if I am posting in the wrong place…

My girlfriend has had a Glowforge (basic model) in the UK for the last 15 months, today it would seem the unit has lost all power. Having spoken to Glowforge of course we have received the advice to return the unit for analysis at a cost of $1000 if they arrange the shipment plus $400-1000 for the repair… Obviously this isnt something she’s too happy about so I’m looking around to see whether anyone can help / has any advice on how we may be able to go about getting it repaired or getting replacement parts?

Any help much appreciated, have a very upset gf at the moment! :frowning:

Is it completely dead? Does it make any sounds at all when you plug it in and turn on the power switch?

Unfortunately, the downside to buying a proprietary device from a company that is very protective of their “intellectual property” is the distinct lack of access to replacement parts.

The Glowforge uses a bespoke power supply that can only be sourced from one place - them, and they currently do not sell any of the “non-user serviceable” parts.

The other issue is that the power supply is not easy to remove and replace. The high voltage feed and return wires cannot be disconnected at the supply, and they snake all the way through the machine. This makes removal a time consuming and frustrating task.

Once removed though, the inner workings of the power supply itself are nothing extraordinary, and anyone with experience repairing high-voltage switch mode power supplies could take it on. You may be able to find a local electronics repair shop that would be willing to assist (there is a plenty of information on this site to help them along).

2 Likes

Hey Scott thanks for your reply.
Yeah - seems to be completely dead, no sound from the power unit or anywhere in the device on plugging in / switching on… something about dodo’s!